Building and Housing Department


Mission & Purpose

The Building & Housing Department, supervised by a licensed Construction Official, is responsible for the administration, supervision, and approval of all applications for construction, alterations and renovations of buildings within the Township. It is also responsible for the administration of the property maintenance code of the Township of Hillside that establishes minimum standards governing the maintenance, appearance, conditions, and occupancy of residential and non-residential premises.    

Enforcement of the Uniform Construction Code includes:

  • Requirement to apply for and to obtain a written permit to erect, construct or alter any building or structure or parts thereof designed for human occupancy.

Uniform Construction Code Violation Penalties: violations of the Uniform Construction Code are punishable by fines starting at $2000. Prior to starting any type of construction, please make sure you secure the required permits to avoid such fines.  

General Property Maintenance Items:

  • Snow removal
  • Keeping grass cut
  • Maintaining property free of litter and refuse
  • Proper storage of household refuse and curbside collection

Violation of the property maintenance code is punishable by fines starting at $250. 

If you are planning to have a garage sale, please contact the Building Department to obtain a permit. The fee is $5 and good for three (3) consecutive days. 

If you are repairing your sidewalks, please contact the Building Department to obtain a permit. The fee is $10. 

Dumpster permits are required for the driveway or the street. The fee is $25 for the driveway and $50 plus a $25 inspection fee for the street. A $1000 retainer fee and certificate of insurance with the Township as a second insured is required for all street dumpster permits. 

A zoning permit is required for new construction, additions, decks, swim pools, garages, sheds and changes of use. Please see the Planning and Zoning page for application. 

A Certificate of Continued Occupancy is required for the resale of residential and non-residential properties and change of tenants in non-residential properties. Please contact the office for additional information. 

A Certificate of Habitability is required for the rental of all residential units. Please contact the office for additional information. 

Vacant properties must be registered with the Township. Please contact the office for additional information. 

 

Contact Information

Artur Figueiredo, Construction Official
afigueiredo@hillsidenj.us

Bahiya Muhammad
bmuhammad@hillsidenj.us

Richard Thacker
rthacker@hillsidenj.us

Sam Infante, Electrical Sub-Code Official
sinfante@hillsidenj.us

Ray Keeley, Plumbing Sub-Code Official
rkeeley@hillsidenj.us

Matthew O’Keefe, Fire Sub-Code Official
mokeefe@hillsidenj.us

Carlos Ruiz, Building Inspector
cruiz@hillsidenj.us 

Ebony Slade
eslade@hillsidenj.us

James Ballentine, Code Enforcement Officer
jballentine@hillsidenj.us

Curtiss Webb, Code Enforcement Officer
cwebb@hillsidenj.us


Phone: (973) 926-5100

Fax: (973) 351-5471

 

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Instragram
© The Township of Hillside 2020 - powered by EggZack